Berlin – took my breathe away

October 9, 2011 § Leave a comment

Was away in Berlin for a conference, i suppose it went quite alright but of course, with much improvements for next year. The city was fantastic! At least I loved it. Did manage to walk around abit and it sure is a charming place with nice people.

My favorite has got to the courtyards at Hackescher Markt. Previously a Jewish quarters, its turned into a nice place with quaint shops and cafes to chill and watch the day go by. Flowers everywhere, just lovely.

Wouldn’t it be great to have an apartment with flowers all around? How magical! Just that i’ll need to go to the first floor and look up to my window in awe every now and then.

Around the city their iconic figures are hard at work – the ampel man (or the East German pedestrian traffic light symbols). They’ve got tonnes of merchandise, even pasta in the shape of the ampel man.

Being a city high on the arts, wall art is not uncommon in the neigbourhoods. Like these i’ve seen in Prenzlauer Berg. Pretty!

Of Course we can’t forget the rich history of this place. One of the most memorable being the wall – although its more like a gallery today, i can’t help but feel a little sad when i saw it.

As for food, lots of Italian cuisine around. Naturally, I dived into the famous currywurst for my first meal. Yum yum!

My trip ended somewhat like that and i’m definitely looking forward to visit again. On my way back to Singapore, i got a pretty good seat on SQ. I was really thankful! I might just get 3 meals if i’ve asked.

I’ll be off to another city for a break soon. Yipppee!

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Berlin – took my breathe away at I Love Hippo Lines.

meta

