I’ve been drawing

September 23, 2012 § 1 Comment

There are so many people who can draw amazingly well and its really therapeutic just browsing through their online galleries and blogs. After all the ogling, I wish I could draw like them. I just need a lot a lot a lot of practice. It is funny how you can try and copy their styles but you’ll end up with your own somehow. It’s a good thing, because you can say “I drew that!”.

I would like to share two of my favorites – Florent Chavouet and Julia Rothman.

Florent Chavouet is behind the beautiful illustrated Japan Guide book – Tokyo Sanpo. The moment I saw the cover, I went “How can anyone draw so well??!”.  And I bought it. Not because I’m going to Japan but to gawk at every page. He has a blog in French and a website with a gallery of his works.

Julia Rothman does a lot of illustrations and turns them in useful wares like cards, bottles, and temporary tattoos! She’s really good at putting together daily items into cute pattern designs ranging from cutleries to cassette tapes. I thought I really want to draw as well as her when I first saw her editorial feature on Design Sponge. Check out her work on her website.

Inspired, I started drawing again. Almost done.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ One Response to I’ve been drawing

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I’ve been drawing at I Love Hippo Lines.

meta

